Pisac

Pisac est le nom d'une ville de la Vallée Sacrée des Incas. Dans la partie supérieure de cette ville se trouve le site archéologique de l'ancienne cité inca de Pisaq, qui aurait abrité l'Inca Pachacutec lui-même. L'enceinte abrite de nombreuses structures en pierre sculptée de haute qualité. Ils mettent en valeur le célèbre 'Intihuatana', une structure religieuse en l'honneur du soleil. Chaque dimanche, la commune propose un marché artisanal où une grande variété de souvenirs sont vendus à bon prix. Pour tout cela, c'est l'une des destinations les plus populaires de la Vallée Sacrée des Incas.



Explora Pisac

Pisac n'est qu'à 34 kilomètres de la ville de Cusco. Visitez cette ville particulière et découvrez son site archéologique inca, son célèbre marché et bien plus encore.


Qu'est-ce que Pisac ?

Pisac fait référence au site archéologique et à l'ancienne cité inca qui aurait été destinée à l'empereur Pachacutec au XVe siècle. Il fait également référence à la ville qui s'est formée au pied du site archéologique, célèbre pour son marché artisanal et pour les beaux paysages de rivières et de montagnes qui font également partie de la Vallée Sacrée des Incas.

Que signifie son nom ?

Pisac est un mot qui vient du mot quechua 'Pisaqaq' qui signifie 'Perdrix'. En effet, le périmètre de l'ensemble de l'enceinte a la forme de cet oiseau, caractéristique des Andes péruviennes. Comme Pisac, de nombreuses villes et temples avaient la forme d'un animal. Un autre exemple significatif est l'ancienne ville de Cusco, la capitale de l'empire Inca, qui avait la forme d'un puma.

Localisation

La ville et le site archéologique de Pisac se trouvent à environ 43 kilomètres de la ville de Cusco par la route. Le site Inca est situé à 3 300 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer (10 826 pieds). La ville, située sur ses pentes, est à 2 974 mètres (9 757 pieds).

Carte pour se rendre à Pisac

Comment se rendre à Pisac

Se rendre à Pisac est très simple. C'est la ville de la Vallée Sacrée des Incas la plus proche de la ville de Cusco. Vous y arrivez par la route en un trajet de seulement 1 heure en moyenne. Vous pouvez prendre un taxi, bien que l'option la moins chère soit de prendre les transports en commun situés dans la rue Puputi, tout près du centre historique de la ville de Cusco.

Histoire

Pisac, la vallée au pied de la rivière Vilcanota, était habitée au début du XIIe siècle par des tribus andines telles que les Calcas et les Ancasmarcas. Avec l'arrivée de Manco Capac (le premier souverain des Incas) à Cusco au XIIIe siècle, il réussit à nouer des alliances avec ces peuples voisins. C'est alors que Pisac, situé à la limite nord-est de la capitale inca, était un point important où ils devaient s'installer.

Au 15ème siècle, lorsque les Incas ont atteint leur expansion la plus vertigineuse, l'empereur Pachacutec a ordonné la construction d'une ville au sommet de la montagne 'Apu Inti Huatana', qui domine toute la vallée de la rivière Vilcanota. Cette immense citadelle avait tout pour sa subsistance: plates-formes, canaux d'eau, enclos, temples, escaliers, etc. Ce serait l'enceinte de l'Inca Pachacutec, d'où dominait la Vallée Sacrée des Incas.

Lors de la conquête espagnole au XVIe siècle, Pisac est envahie. Beaucoup de ses structures ont été endommagées, en particulier l'ensemble des centaines de tombeaux incas, considérés comme profanes par les Européens. Entre 1570 et 1575 le vice-roi Tolède a créé la réduction de la ville de Pisac où les églises chrétiennes et les maisons coloniales ont été construites. La tradition du commerce à Pisac se poursuit à ce jour à travers le célèbre marché artisanal qui a lieu tous les dimanches. Actuellement, sa population parle le quechua, la langue des Incas et préserve de nombreuses traditions de la colonie et de l'époque inca.

Site archéologique de Pisac

Les murs - Ensemble de murs de grande dimension qui servaient d'entrée à l'enceinte dans la partie orientale. Il a cinq portes ou entrées où se distingue le 'Amaru Punku', un mot quechua qui signifie 'Porte du serpent'.

Les tunnels - Deux couloirs à l'intérieur de la montagne de Pisac qui auraient servi à effectuer des rituels religieux. Le premier atteint 16 mètres et le second, 3 mètres.

Le Pont Inca - Les bases de plusieurs ponts suspendus Incas à Pisac sont situées du côté ouest de l'enceinte. Ces ponts étaient faits de paille sauvage et étaient largement utilisés dans tout l'empire.

L'Intihuatana - La structure la plus importante de Pisac est l'Intihuatana, un mot quechua qui signifie 'Horloge solaire'. Cette structure cérémonielle en pierre sur plusieurs niveaux se trouve dans la partie supérieure de l'enceinte. La surface supérieure en forme de table aurait servi à effectuer des sacrifices d'animaux en l'honneur du dieu soleil, le plus important des Incas. Au Machu Picchu et dans d'autres temples incas, il y a aussi des 'Intihuatanas'.

Les Colcas ou entrepôts - Les Colcas étaient des constructions circulaires où l'on stockait la nourriture. A Pisac, il y a jusqu'à un ensemble de six gisements disposés en rangées de taille égale. Les Colcas ont été construits dans diverses parties du vaste empire des Incas.

Le cimetière Inca - Juste en face du site archéologique de Pisac se trouvent des cavités nichées sur un haut sommet. Ceux-ci appartenaient à un ancien cimetière inca qui abritait jusqu'à 10 000 tombes. Les Incas croyaient à la réincarnation. Par conséquent, ils ont été enterrés avec quelques effets personnels. Avec l'invasion espagnole au 16ème siècle, le cimetière a été pillé et détruit.

Les tours - Au sommet de Pisac se trouve un ensemble de grandes tours en pierre polie. Ceux-ci protégeaient l'enceinte de dimensions possibles. Ils auraient également servi à l'écoulement de l'eau dans le lieu. En raison de l'abondance de ces constructions, Pisac était également connue sous le nom de 'Ville des Tours'.

La ñusta enchantée - Sur le chemin de Pisac, il y a une formation rocheuse en forme de femme portant des sacoches sur son dos, comme c'était la tradition inca. La tradition orale attribue cette structure à la légende de la princesse Inca Inquill, qui a été transformée en pierre comme punition des dieux pour ne pas avoir obéi à son père.

Le Tiyanacuy - Pisac est composé de plusieurs quartiers ou ensembles d'enceintes où se détachent divers bâtiments mineurs. Par exemple, à Tiyanacuy, il y a un trône pour deux personnes finement sculpté dans la roche. Cette structure aurait été destinée à l'Inca Pachacutec lui-même et à sa femme.

La calla casa - Cet ensemble d'enclos, contrairement à d'autres à Pisac, a été construit de manière rustique en profitant des formations rocheuses au sommet des collines. Vous y arrivez en évitant les chemins difficiles le long des falaises. Il y aurait un service pour la classe des roturiers qui habitaient la ville.

Pisaq - Dans le quartier Pisaq ou Pisaq'a il y a un ensemble de plus d'une vingtaine d'enclos en pierre sculptée de haute qualité. Il met également en évidence un point de vue d'où vous pouvez voir la Vallée Sacrée des Incas et actuellement, la ville de Pisac.

Ville de Pisac

La ville de Pisac est l'une des villes les plus célèbres de la Vallée Sacrée des Incas. Il se trouve au pied du site archéologique inca du même nom. Pendant la colonie c'était une réduction des Indiens où des temples, des places et de grandes maisons ont été construits. Son église, appelée 'San Pedro Apóstol', en raison du saint qui la garde, se distingue. Dans cette ville, ses beaux paysages de montagne et la rivière Vilcanota qui baigne ses champs attirent l'attention. Aussi son marché artisanal, célèbre dans tout Cusco. Elle dispose de plusieurs services hôteliers et de restauration pour recevoir les centaines de touristes qui y arrivent chaque jour pour visiter son site archéologique et ses belles rues.

Marché de Pisac

Le marché de Pisac est l'une des attractions touristiques les plus populaires de la Vallée Sacrée des Incas. C'est dans la ville du même nom. Ses origines remontent à l'époque coloniale où les produits s'échangeaient sur sa place. Aujourd'hui, chaque jour, il propose une grande variété d'épiceries et d'artisanat. Cependant, c'est le dimanche, quand arrivent les marchands de différentes parties de la vallée, qu'elle se remplit de plus de couleurs et, bien sûr, de meilleurs prix. La foule se rassemble sur la place de la ville pour faire ses courses. Les touristes peuvent s'y rendre avec différents objets artisanaux tels que: vêtements en alpaga, céramiques, polos, bijoux en or et en argent, masques, photographies, tapisseries, sacs à dos et bien d'autres.

Combien cela coûte-t-il de visiter Pisac ?

Avec tournée - Une visite de la Vallée Sacrée des Incas Journée Complète (comprend une visite de la ville, du marché et du site archéologique de Pisac); Il a un coût approximatif de 70 dollars américains.

Compte propre - Pour partir seul, vous devez acheter le 'Billet touristique partiel de Cusco' qui coûte 70 soles péruviens (22 dollars américains) et comprend: Pisac, Chinchero, Ollantaytambo et Moray. Vous devez également louer un transport (privé ou public) et un service de guide (au même endroit).

Heures de visite

Vous pouvez visiter le site archéologique de Pisac tous les jours de l'année de 7h du matin jusqu'à 6h de l'après-midi.

Que faut-il apporter ?

Lorsque vous allez à Pisac n'oubliez pas d'apporter:

Climat

Pisac a un climat tempéré. Pendant la nuit, la température peut descendre à 2 degrés Celsius (35,6 Fahrenheit). Pendant la journée, la chaleur peut atteindre 22 degrés Celsius (71,6 Fahrenheit). Les pluies sont plus fréquentes de novembre à avril. De mai à octobre, le temps est sec, avec peu de risques de pluie. Selon les experts, c'est la meilleure période de l'année pour partir.

Images de Pisac

Andenes agrícolas de Pisac
Mercado artesanal de Pisac
Pisac en el Valle Sagrado de los Incas
See more traveler pictures

Conseils pour votre visite

Si vous visitez Pisac par vos propres moyens, n'hésitez pas et essayez la gastronomie de cette ville. La spécialité est le 'cuy al palo', un plat typique de Cusco à base de cuy (cobaye). Vous pourrez également déguster d'autres plats de la cuisine péruvienne, l'un des meilleurs au monde. Dans la ville il y a de bons restaurants.

Lors de votre visite du site archéologique de Pisac vous devrez marcher, monter et descendre des escaliers et des quais. De ce fait, vous ressentirez sûrement une agitation accélérée. Cela est dû à la géographie de haute altitude dans les Andes. Allez-y doucement sans vous pousser plus que d'habitude.

Pisac est aussi célèbre pour ses bijoutiers où il y a des démonstrations de fabrication d'objets en argent. Beaucoup de ces magasins proposent des prix inférieurs à ceux que vous pouvez trouver dans d'autres magasins de Cusco, de la Vallée sacrée des Incas et du Machu Picchu.

Si vous visitez Pisac, vous devriez également profiter de connaître les autres villes de la Vallée Sacrée des Incas telles que: Calca, Urubamba, Moray, Maras, Ollantaytambo et Chinchero. Ils ont tous beaucoup à offrir. Les circuits dans la Vallée Sacrée des Incas incluent déjà une visite de ces lieux. Cependant, si vous partez seul, prenez un bus et visitez les endroits que vous pouvez.

Tourist attractions close to Pisac

Ville de Cusco

Cusco, capitale des Incas, où vous pourrez visiter la cathédrale, Coricancha, Sacsayhuaman, Qenqo, Pucapucara, Tambomachay, des musées, des bars, des boîtes de nuit, etc.

Ville de Cusco

Quillabamba

Quillabamba est la capitale de la province de La Convención à Cusco. Elle est célèbre pour ses chutes d'eau, ses piscines, son climat chaud, sa flore, sa faune, son café, son cacao, etc.

Quillabamba

Maras

Maras est une ville traditionnelle de la Vallée Sacrée des Incas. Ses principales attractions sont les mines de sel de Maras et les plates-formes circulaires de Moray.

Maras

Pisac

Pisac is the name of a town in the Sacred Valley of the Incas. In the upper part of this town is the archaeological site of the ancient Inca city of Pisaq, which would have housed the Inca Pachacutec himself. The enclosure houses many high-quality carved stone structures. They highlight the famous 'Intihuatana', a religious structure in honor of the sun. Every Sunday, the town offers an artisan market where a great variety of souvenirs are sold at good prices. For all this, it is one of the most popular destinations in the Sacred Valley of the Incas.



Explore Pisac

Pisac is only 34 kilometers from the city of Cusco. Visit this peculiar town and know its Inca archaeological site, its famous market and much more.

1. Archaeological site of Pisac

The archaeological site of Pisac is located in the Sacred Valley of the Incas. Its name means ‘partridge’ because the place has the shape of this Andean...

Archaeological site of Pisac
Pisac Market

2. Pisac Market

The Pisac market offers jewelry, alpaca clothing, musical instruments, and more handicrafts and groceries. On Sundays the trade is more colorful.

Pisac Market
Botanical Garden of Pisac

3. Botanical Garden of Pisac

The garden is located in the town of Pisac, in the Sacred Valley of the Incas. It has samples of flowers, insects, cacti and other species of flora.

Botanical Garden of Pisac

What is Pisac?

Pisac refers to the archaeological site and ancient Inca city that would have been destined for Emperor Pachacutec in the 15th century. It also refers to the town that was formed at the foot of the archaeological site, famous for its artisan market and for the beautiful landscapes of rivers and mountains that are also part of the Sacred Valley of the Incas.

What does Pisac mean ?

Pisac is a word that comes from the Quechua word 'Pisaqaq' which means 'Partridge'. This is because the perimeter of the entire enclosure has the shape of this bird, characteristic of the Peruvian Andes. Like Pisac, many cities and temples were shaped like an animal. Another significant example is the ancient city of Cusco, the capital of the Inca empire, which was shaped like a puma.

Location

The town and archaeological site of Pisac is approximately 43 kilometers from the city of Cusco by road. The Inca site is located 3,300 meters above sea level (10,826 feet). The town, located on its slopes, is at 2,974 meters (9,757 feet).

Map to get to Pisac

How to get?

Getting to Pisac is very easy. It is the town of the Sacred Valley of the Incas closest to the city of Cusco. You get there by road in a trip of only 1 hour on average. You can take a taxi, although the cheapest option is to take the public transport services located on Puputi street, very close to the Historic Center of the city of Cusco.

History

Pisac, the valley at the foot of the Vilcanota River, was inhabited at the beginning of the 12th century by Andean tribes such as the Calcas and the Ancasmarca. With the arrival of Manco Capac (the first ruler of the Incas) to Cusco in the 13th century, he managed to establish alliances with these neighboring peoples. It was then that Pisac, located in the northeast limit of the Inca capital, was an important point where they had to settle.

In the 15th century, when the Incas achieved their most vertiginous expansion, Emperor Pachacutec ordered the construction of a city on top of the mountain 'Apu Inti Huatana', which dominates the entire valley of the Vilcanota river. This immense citadel had everything for its subsistence: platforms, water channels, enclosures, temples, stairways and more. It would be the site of the Inca Pachacutec, from where the Sacred Valley of the Incas dominated.

During the Spanish conquest in the 16th century, Pisac was invaded. Many of its structures were damaged, especially the set of hundreds of Inca tombs, which were considered profane by Europeans. Between 1570 and 1575, Viceroy Toledo created the reduction of the town of Pisac where Christian churches and colonial houses were built. The tradition of commerce in Pisac continues to this day through the famous artisan market that takes place every Sunday. Currently, its population speaks Quechua, the language of the Incas and preserves many traditions of the colony and the Inca period.

Archaeological site of Pisac

The walls – A group of large walls that served as the entrance to the enclosure in the eastern part. It has five doors or entrances where the 'Amaru Punku' stands out, a Quechua word that means 'Door of the snake'.

The tunnels – Two corridors within the Pisac mountain that would have served to perform religious rituals. The first reaches 16 meters and the second, 3 meters.

The Inca Bridge – The bases of several Inca suspension bridges in Pisac are located on the western side of the enclosure. These bridges were made of wild straw and were widely used throughout the empire.

The Intihuatana – The most important structure in Pisac is the Intihuatana, a Quechua word that means 'Solar Clock'. This ceremonial structure made of stone on several levels is in the upper part of the enclosure. The upper surface in the form of a table, would have served to perform animal sacrifices in honor of the sun god, the most important of the Incas. In Machu Picchu and other Inca temples, there are also 'Intihuatanas'.

The colcas or deposits – The colcas were circular constructions where food was stored. In Pisac there are up to a set of six deposits arranged in rows of equal size. The Colcas were built in various parts of the vast empire of the Incas.

The Inca cemetery – Right in front of the archaeological site of Pisac there are cavities nestled on a high summit. These belonged to an ancient Inca cemetery that housed up to 10,000 graves. The Incas believed in reincarnation. Therefore, they were buried with some belongings. With the Spanish invasion in the 16th century, the cemetery was looted and destroyed.

The towers – At the top of Pisac there is a set of large polished stone towers. These protected the enclosure of possible dimensions. They would also have served for the flow of water in the place. Due to the abundance of these constructions, Pisac was also known as the 'City of Towers'.

The Enchanted ñusta – On the way to Pisac there is a rock formation in the shape of a woman who carries saddlebags on her back, as was the Inca tradition. Oral tradition attributes this structure to the legend of the Inca princess Inquill, who was turned into stone as a punishment from the gods for not obeying her father.

The Tiyanacuy – Pisac is made up of several neighborhoods or sets of enclosures where various minor buildings stand out. For example, in Tiyanacuy there is a throne for two people carved finely in a rock. This structure would have been destined to the Inca Pachacutec himself and his wife.

The calla casa – This set of enclosures, unlike others in Pisac, were built in a rustic way taking advantage of the rock formations at the top of the hills. You get there by avoiding difficult paths along cliffs. There would be service for the commoner class that lived in the city.

Pisaq – In the Pisaq or Pisaq'a neighborhood there is a set of more than twenty carved stone enclosures of good quality. It also highlights a viewpoint from where you can see the Sacred Valley of the Incas and currently, the town of Pisac.

Pisac town

The town of Pisac is one of the most famous towns in the Sacred Valley of the Incas. It is at the foot of the Inca archaeological site of the same name. During the colony it was a reduction of Indians where temples, squares and large houses were built. Its church, called 'San Pedro Apóstol', due to the saint who guards it, stands out. In this town its beautiful mountain landscapes and the Vilcanota river that bathes its fields attract attention. Also its artisan market, famous throughout Cusco. It has several hotel and restaurant services to receive the hundreds of tourists who arrive there every day to visit its archaeological site and its beautiful streets.

Pisac Market

The Pisac market is one of the most popular tourist attractions in the Sacred Valley of the Incas. It is in the town of the same name. It has its origins from colonial times where products were exchanged in its square. Today, every day, it offers a great variety of groceries and crafts. However, it is on Sundays, when merchants come from different parts of the valley, that it fills with more color and, of course, better prices. The crowd congregates in the town square to do their shopping. Tourists can get there different artisan products such as: alpaca clothing, ceramics, polo shirts, gold and silver jewelry, masks, photographs, tapestries, backpacks and many more.

How much does it cost to visit Pisac?

With tour – A tour to the Sacred Valley of the Incas Full Day All Inclusive (includes a visit to the town, market and archaeological site of Pisac); It has an approximate cost of 70 US dollars.

On my own – To go on your own you must buy the 'Partial Cusco Tourist Ticket' which costs 70 Peruvian soles (22 US dollars) and includes: Pisac, Chinchero, Ollantaytambo and Moray. You must also hire transportation (private or public) and tourist guide service (in the same place).

Visiting hours

You can visit the archaeological site of Pisac every day of the year from 7 in the morning until 6 in the afternoon.

What to bring

When you go to Pisac do not forget to bring:

Climate

Pisac has a temperate climate. During the nights the temperature can drop to 2 degrees Celsius (35.6 Fahrenheit). During the day the heat can reach 22 degrees Celsius (71.6 Fahrenheit). The rains are more frequent from November to April. From May to October the weather is dry, with little chance of rain. According to experts, it is the best time of year to go.

Images of Pisac

Andenes agrícolas de Pisac
Mercado artesanal de Pisac
Pisac en el Valle Sagrado de los Incas
See more traveler pictures

Tips for your visit

If you visit Pisac on your own, be encouraged to try the gastronomy in this town. The specialty is the 'cuy al palo', a typical Cusco dish made from cuy (guinea pig). You can also taste other dishes of Peruvian food, one of the best in the world. In the town there are good restaurants.

During your tour of the archaeological site of Pisac you will have to walk, go up and down stairs and platforms. Because of this, you will surely feel an accelerated agitation. This is due to the high altitude geography in the Andes. Go slowly without pushing yourself more than normal.

Pisac is also famous for its jewelers where there are demonstrations of making silver objects. Many of these stores offer prices below what you could find in other stores in Cusco, the Sacred Valley of the Incas and Machu Picchu.

If you visit Pisac, you should also take advantage of getting to know the other towns of the Sacred Valley of the Incas such as: Calca, Urubamba, Moray, Maras, Ollantaytambo and Chinchero. They all have a lot to offer. Tours to the Sacred Valley of the Incas already include a visit to these places. However, if you are going on your own, take a bus and tour as many places as you can.

Tourist attractions close to Pisac

Calca

Calca is one of the most important towns in the Sacred Valley of the Incas. It is famous for its pleasant climate, its thermal baths, Inca sites and much more.

Calca

Chinchero

Chinchero is famous for its archaeological site (Túpac Yupanqui Palace). The town stands out for its customs, textile centers, church and clothing.

Chinchero

Quillabamba

Quillabamba is the capital of the province of La Convencion in Cusco. It is famous for its waterfalls, pools, hot weather, flora, fauna, coffee, cocoa, and more.

Quillabamba